Using RSS Professionally

My previous experience using an RSS feed wasn’t negative but it wasn’t positive.  I’m still neutral on the ultra convenience of it all.   I felt that I spent more time bouncing from topic to topic and not really focusing on one thing.  Then before I know two hours have gone by and I am exactly where I started.

With the most recent RSS that I have started, I want to keep the subscriptions to educational blogs, podcasts, articles, etc.  I think the separation of my work life and my personal life will help focus my time spent online.  My original plan is to enhance my own learning by exposing myself to new teaching practices, new material, and new technology.  After my first few grad courses, I realized that there are so many ways that I can enhance my own teaching practices and professional development.  From that point I decided that I needed to start enjoying the mandatory professional development I complete every year.  Why not learn how to use the new technology?  Why not do a little research with a new teaching practice?  Why not make make my teaching better so that the students get the best education possible?

Bringing it back to the RSS.  I will try my best to remain practical and make the learning experience a definite positive.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Using RSS Professionally

  1. Scott Burmeister says:

    I have not had any experience using RSS feed prior to this experience. After playing with the RSS Search Feeds assignment it seems the quality of the information received is dependent on the focus of the search criteria. Having said that I have not figured out how to get the results I am looking for. I have to believe that if we can master the art of the search criteria then our results will be more on target!

    I agree with you that time can fly by when you are sitting and surfing. I just don’t allow myself to do the information searching during my prep time at school because the next thing I know the bell rings, kids are flowing into class, and I am not ready for them. I use FlipBoard to help aggregate the news I am interested in. I also have it on my iPad which makes taking the news with me much easier.

Leave a comment